PDA

View Full Version : Pop up windows in new tabs?


Mindflayer
2006-04-17, 09:56 AM
Can we have a setting to force pop-up (e.g. from target _blank and so on) into new tabs?

mat catastrophe
2006-04-17, 10:04 AM
Can we have a setting to force pop-up (e.g. from target _blank and so on) into new tabs?

I'll second that request. It's the only thing that I wish for in OmniWeb now. After that, I'll be happy.

Jon Hicks
2006-04-17, 01:19 PM
+ 1 for this feature from me

Ward
2006-04-17, 03:27 PM
I gather the previous posters are looking for a preference to automatically open new windows as tabs.

Since I have a strong habit of command-click on most links, I never know then the page author is specifying a new window. Unfortunately, this is currently broken in 5.5sp4.

Known Issue:
Command-clicking a link that targets _blank will open a new window, not a new tab

Mindflayer
2006-04-17, 05:48 PM
Ward - not only command clicking, but also when sites want to pop a new (requested) window on you. Rather than have to be aware it's going to spawn a new window, I'd like OW to handle it.

Forrest
2006-04-17, 06:38 PM
I think this also goes along with a request to add "in a new window" to the status bar when a link is target="_blank"

mat catastrophe
2006-04-22, 02:12 AM
From the SP 5 notes...

An option to open pop-up windows in the same browser window as new tabs has been added.
You can enable this by doing a defaults write: "defaults write com.omnigroup.OmniWeb5 OWOpenNewFramesInTabs -bool true

I can now die a happy man.

peterb
2006-04-24, 11:03 AM
I was hoping that this new setting would work with the "Block pop-up windows" preference under the Ad Blocking tab of site preferences. My expectation is that:

* If "Block pop-up windows" is set to "Always" and "Show blocked pop-up windows in the status bar" is checked (both the default) then the popup should show up in the status bar.
* If "Block pop-up windows" is set to "Only when not requested" then instead of a new window, a new tab is opened.

Instead, the behavior I'm seeing is that once the pref is set, then all pop up windows appear in a new tab.

-peter

jordan.breeding
2006-04-26, 12:34 PM
Here is the situation I would consider ideal:

Click on a link (regardless of whether is is set to _blank or something similar): have it open in the current window/tab
Cmd-click/Middle-click on a link: have it open in a new tab in the current window
Click on a link from another app: have it open in a new tab in the current window

I don't mind things being an option like "Behavior for _blank, etc.: nothing/same tab/new tab" but even though I like "new tab" better than just having new windows open when I don't want them to I really prefer that if I clicked on a link it should just open in my current tab. This is how I use Firefox, and how I would like to use OmniWeb. I can get "new tab" but not "same tab" with Safari Stand, but I still prefer having the choice of "same tab".

jordan.breeding
2006-04-28, 05:59 AM
Here is the situation I would consider ideal:

Click on a link (regardless of whether is is set to _blank or something similar): have it open in the current window/tab
Cmd-click/Middle-click on a link: have it open in a new tab in the current window
Click on a link from another app: have it open in a new tab in the current window

I don't mind things being an option like "Behavior for _blank, etc.: nothing/same tab/new tab" but even though I like "new tab" better than just having new windows open when I don't want them to I really prefer that if I clicked on a link it should just open in my current tab. This is how I use Firefox, and how I would like to use OmniWeb. I can get "new tab" but not "same tab" with Safari Stand, but I still prefer having the choice of "same tab".

Ping.

What are the chances of getting an option (even if hidden) to "force open in current tab/window" instead of only having the current "force open in new tab"?

jordan.breeding
2006-05-01, 02:58 PM
Ping.

What are the chances of getting an option (even if hidden) to "force open in current tab/window" instead of only having the current "force open in new tab"?

would it be possible to see a new default along the lines of:

OWOpenNewFramesInCurrentTab

in addition to

OWOpenNewFramesInTabs

Thanks.

Forrest
2006-05-01, 04:51 PM
would it be possible to see a new default along the lines of:

OWOpenNewFramesInCurrentTab

in addition to

OWOpenNewFramesInTabs

Thanks.

I guess it comes down to who makes the choice, the developer or the surfer?

I'm a little biased on that ;)

Len Case
2006-05-06, 07:39 AM
Just a note, there are already several issues with OWOpenNewFramesInTabs and I'm sure there would be even more with using the same tab. For now these new features are our lowest priority so I wouldn't hold your breath.

It's not that we are opposed, just that we would much rather finish making all the old features work again.