PDA

View Full Version : How do you schedule tasks?

J R
2010-04-25, 10:15 PM
I've been using GTD for a year or so now, and Omnifocus for about 3 months. I love OF, but I could use some suggestions about how to schedule tasks.

Thus far I've been doing scheduling like this. During my weekly review on Sunday I schedule firm due dates during the coming week for high priority actions.

This works okay, but the problem I am encountering is this. When I schedule due dates for high priority actions, it is difficult to spread things out properly. That is, I end up schedule a ridiculously busy Tuesday, then not much on Wednesday and Thursday, an impossibly busy Friday.

I have been lurking on the forum and I know that the issue of showing actions graphically on a calendar such as iCal is a well-discussed topic, and the dev team has decided against it.

My question is, since showing the items graphically is not the OF way of doing things, what is a convenient way to schedule actions without piling them up too much? Any suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!

ext555
2010-04-26, 11:15 AM
If I'm not mistaken , there's some apple scripts on the forum that can be used to create calendars from your omni focus actions , that might help ?

J R
2010-04-27, 09:39 AM
Yeah, I ran across that apple script. Still haven't installed it, but it looks promising.

I was thinking, though, that the OF team must have some compelling reason why it is not necessary to graph all actions onto a calendar. (I think a dev team member posted on this forum saying that the reason is that many/most actions do not have a firm start and end time.)

That being the case, what do you all think is the OF "best practices" way of scheduling due dates for these high priority actions?

Brian
2010-04-27, 03:37 PM
I tend to pile too many events into my Fridays, as well. It's just so easy to type into those date cells. :-)