PDA

View Full Version : "New Tab" button


Scalpel
2006-04-28, 02:27 AM
Didn't see this mentioned elsewhere: I would like a button for opening a new tab, without having to go through a menu in the tabs drawers for it.

Len Case
2006-04-28, 07:57 AM
What about using the <Command + T> keyboard shortcut?

Scalpel
2006-04-28, 04:08 PM
True. But a one-click button simplifies making a new tab. You can tell I use tabs a lot. :cool:

Forrest
2006-04-28, 04:32 PM
True. But a one-click button simplifies making a new tab. You can tell I use tabs a lot. :cool:

For keyboard shortcuts I use often, I bind them to my extra mouse buttons. For example, Close Current Tag in BBEdit is bound to a button.

That said, I only do that because they key combo is complex. Command+t is one of the easier ones. ;)

Scalpel
2006-04-28, 09:47 PM
Yeah I'm doing something like that for Omniweb now - mouse gesturing with the right mouse button using xGestures. It would be nice though to have a button..

Len Case
2006-04-28, 11:46 PM
After creating this tab with the mouse, what do you do with it?

Cause if you open a bookmark, you could just open the bookmark in a new tab directly. If you type a URL, you need to use the keyboard already so you might as well use Cmd-T to make the tab since you will need your hands on the keyboard to enter the url.

If you are dragging a link, you can just drag the link into the drawer (once it is open).

Just trying to understand where having a button would actually speed things up compared to the other options for creating a tab.

Scalpel
2006-04-29, 01:48 AM
Len, some situations requiring a new tab include:
1. doing a search from the search text box
2. opening a bookmark in a folder in the favourites bar
3. opening a tab to input a url

In the last case, I can see how ⌘-T then inputting the url without leaving the keyboard makes sense and maybe something I could learn to do - old habits die hard - but having that tab button would be flexible.

Len Case
2006-04-29, 02:01 AM
For each of the above:
1. Cmd + T, Cmd + Shift + F, type search text.
2. Click on folder, hold down command key, select link
3. Cmd + T, type url.

If you don't want to be maximally efficient, you might as well use the gear or context menu in the drawer since it is only one small drag as new tab is the first item in the context/gear menu.

It's not that I am terribly opposed, it's that if you add a +, then people will want a -, and there is the issue of top or bottom, and really it should go where the thumbnail vs. list picker is, and when you resize the drawer, something needs to give way or the drawer can't be as small as it can now, ...

Scalpel
2006-04-29, 02:14 AM
Didn't expect to get prompt feedback - thanks! :)

Len Case
2006-04-29, 02:21 AM
I should add that I do think "New Tab" would be a fine option for a toolbar item--but we would need a new icon for it--perhaps in 5.5.1.

ebob
2006-05-24, 06:20 PM
A button is ok, but Firefox is simpler: double-click in a blank space next to the last tab and you get a new tab. OW could do the same: double-click in black space under the last tab-thumbnail and you get a new tab.

JKT
2006-05-24, 10:04 PM
The way I browse, there never is a blank space in the toolbar in Firefox/drawer in OmniWeb ;)

edenwaith
2006-06-07, 05:42 PM
Here's another vote for a New Tab button for the toolbar. This doesn't seem like it should be TOO difficult to add...should it? There is already the New Tab menu item, so could the same code be used?

But when I use Firefox, I like to have the New Tab button. Sometimes I'm just lazy and only want to use a mouse and not have to use a key combination, or move up to the menu. It's about another way to make things easier. Or make me lazier. Or both.

Handycam
2006-06-08, 05:20 AM
What I use is Cocoa Gestures. I have a gesture configured, "drag up" open a new tab. Drag down closes the current tab. But it's all up to you -- fully customizable and works for all Cocoa apps. I use it for Safari and Camino too. This way, I can use my mouse to open a tab, without cluttering the toolbar with another button.

Splutter
2006-06-15, 12:48 PM
I see there is a 'New Tab' drop down in the Tab bar Action menu, so what's really wrong with a new tab in the toolbar. I have become used to using it in Safari/Shiira (and don't have a close tab button in the toolbar). :rolleyes:

Renaud
2006-06-18, 08:11 AM
Cmd + T, Cmd + Shift + F, type search text.


Is it not possible to implement in the search field a behavior similar to the one in the URL bar: Cmd + Enter opens the search results in a new tab/window (according to the user preferences).

Handycam
2006-06-20, 02:24 PM
A button is ok, but Firefox is simpler: double-click in a blank space next to the last tab and you get a new tab. OW could do the same: double-click in black space under the last tab-thumbnail and you get a new tab.

Yes, please, I agree!

Splutter
2006-06-23, 04:14 PM
A button is ok, but Firefox is simpler: double-click in a blank space next to the last tab and you get a new tab. OW could do the same: double-click in black space under the last tab-thumbnail and you get a new tab.
Good thought - but you have to have the side-bar open to do this - to create a new tab when non are open, a button would be nice:)