PDA

View Full Version : fix JS for maps/local.google.com


beren
2006-04-29, 09:09 PM
It would be great if maps.google.com worked with OmniWeb. It used to work pretty well if I have OW tell google it's safari, but now it's not working so well in sp7

troyb
2006-04-30, 10:35 PM
Hrm, are you sure you're still spoofing as Safari? If I spoof as Safari 1.2.3 or Safari 2.0.3 Google maps works just fine.

earthsaver
2006-05-02, 07:25 PM
The problem here is that Google Maps only works properly when spoofed as Safari 2.0.3, but then Gmail stops working. I have to return to a native OW presence for it. The only way for everyone to be happy for the moment is to spoof as Firefox.

JKT
2006-05-02, 10:40 PM
...or for Google to fix their crummy browser detection code, perchance?

earthsaver
2006-05-18, 07:39 PM
Actually, some functionality is still broken when spoofing as Safari 2.0.3. Try double-clicking anywhere on a map. The correct behavior is to recenter around that point. However, OmniWeb instead moves the map excessively in a direction whose reference point is quite a challenge to decipher.

Also, when spoofed as Firefox, the double-clicking ability is completely lost.

These are current behaviors in sp11.

troyb
2006-05-23, 07:42 AM
I was playing with google maps yesterday and noticed that there are a couple WebKit issues currently. It looks like these have been fixed in recent WebKit builds.

Ward
2006-06-21, 10:04 AM
This topic has been quiet for a month.

I'm getting tired of launching Firefox to use Google Maps. So I'd like to see if I can trick Google into providing Maps in SP15.

Gmail compatibility in OW is not required because I use Apple Mail for my Gmail account.

What's the current best spoofing for Google Maps?

Handycam
2006-06-21, 11:11 AM
I can use Google maps in SP15.

The only thing that seems "broken" is the double-click centering. And this DOES work in the WebKit we're supposed to test against (Version 2.0.3 (417.9.3))

Ward
2006-06-21, 11:50 AM
I can use Google maps in SP15.
I've been so accustomed to rejection by Google that I didn't test before writing my earlier note. :o

When I tried maps.google.com (http://maps.google.com), a map appeared! Yes!

Then I checked my OW SP15 browser identity preference for <google.com> -- set to Firefox 1.5.0.1 (Mac OS X).

When I change it back to OmniWeb, Google maps says ...

Your web browser is not fully supported by Google Maps. More information (http://local.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=16532&topic=1499)

So I've changed back to Firefox spoofing. (Safari 2.0.3 also seems to work.)

I haven't done a detailed comparison of Safari vs. Firefox spoofing. If anyone has, it would be interesting to know which works better.

Handycam
2006-06-21, 12:21 PM
Ah! Mine was set to Safari 1.2.3. Not sure why, I don't remember ever setting site prefs for Google.com. As you said, 2.03 works too, and I'm now using that.

However, the message that you're getting is Google's fault. They're checking the browser and rejecting OW flat out. This is common -- if bad -- practice. OW 5.5 obviously DOES work, once you fool their stupid script into thinking it's something else.

And I'd guess that spoofing Safari is a better idea, because then you'd get Javascript and CSS optimized for WebKit as opposed to Gecko.

Splutter
2006-06-25, 03:16 PM
Using Safari 2.0.3 I get more functionality - sizing scale, double click centring and speech bubble location with direction links, plus a larger map - than any spoofings in SP.

Also, my websites' embedded Google location map also lacks the tools and speech bubble using SP (in any guise) but works perfectly in Safari & Camino.

(Edit: Since I got iCab wrong in another thread, thought I would mention it gets Google Maps right!)