PDA

View Full Version : Request: Shortcut parity with Safari

Abhi Beckert
2006-06-25, 04:36 AM
I'm a web developer, and while my main browser is OmniWeb, I'm often using just about any other browser out there. A major problem I run into regularly is that every browser has different shortcuts.

View source is the worst, every browser has a different shortcut for view source, I view source all the time when debugging server-side scripts and I have to use the menu, because I can never remember which of the four view source shortcuts apply to the active browser! Another one is show downloads panel. Like view source, it's a different shortcut in every browser, but it's particularly bad in OmniWeb because the Safari shortcut is Cmd-Opt-L, which shows the separate location bar in OmniWeb, which then automajically removes the address bar item from the toolbar, necessitating a trip to the customize toolbar panel to undo your mistake.

Perhaps if OmniWeb goes for shortcut parity with Safari, other browsers will follow? crossed fingers

Note that I'm not suggesting OmniWeb have 100% identical shortcuts, just bring them a little closer, especially with commonly used actions.

Forrest
2006-06-25, 01:27 PM
Well, considering OW has been around a A LOT longer than Safari, I'd think Safari should be the one to change ;)

That said, I do completely understand where you're coming from. One of the great things about Macs is that many of the keyboard commands are shared between apps.

BTW, why would you want to view source in Safari?

Abhi Beckert
2006-06-25, 03:39 PM
Well, considering OW has been around a A LOT longer than Safari, I'd think Safari should be the one to change ;)

Actually I think the opposite is true. Safari is the only browser with the opportunity to take a "fresh start" under Mac OS X, so I'd expect it's shortcuts to be more modern.

BTW, why would you want to view source in Safari?