The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniOutliner 3 for Mac (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Row Handles print preferences (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=22033)

benmadin 2011-08-30 06:04 PM

Row Handles print preferences
 
G'day all,

I use omnioutliner for just about everything that isn't LaTex.

The row handles are fundamental, and I like having them, but they don't look good on printed output. I'd love to know how to change the default print setting

[B]Print row handles[/B]

to not be checked. I don't seem to be able to set this (or unset it) anywhere?

Is it possible... would it be a feature request? Could it at least remember the last chosen setting?

cheers

Ben

BStaud 2011-09-07 05:03 PM

Print Row Handles Or Not
 
I have often thought the same question, and have grumbled at OmniOutliner every time I run into it.

Yes, in the menu File : Print there is a checkbox for "Print Row Handles", but does it stay unchecked for a given document? Noooo, you have to remember to uncheck it every time you request a print. And half the time I forget.

So I agree there should be a Preference for Print Row Handles, and it should stay with the document, or stay for all documents.

OmniOutlinerPro, 3.10.3, OS X 10.6.8

[QUOTE=benmadin;101224]G'day all,

I use omnioutliner for just about everything that isn't LaTex.

The row handles are fundamental, and I like having them, but they don't look good on printed output. I'd love to know how to change the default print setting

[B]Print row handles[/B]

to not be checked. I don't seem to be able to set this (or unset it) anywhere?

Is it possible... would it be a feature request? Could it at least remember the last chosen setting?

cheers

Ben[/QUOTE]

whpalmer4 2011-09-07 08:11 PM

Just making the setting sticky would be sufficient for me. I appreciate that anything dealing with printing involves much suffering, but OmniWeb seems to do it for its specific print preferences, so they've got a working code example to crib from :-)

My workaround is to change the row handles preference in the Row: Advanced inspector to "Show handles: Under mouse" so that I can get the row handle when I need it, but it doesn't print. Works well for me; YMMV.

dax 2011-09-11 12:13 PM

[QUOTE=whpalmer4;101465]My workaround is to change the row handles preference in the Row: Advanced inspector to "Show handles: Under mouse" so that I can get the row handle when I need it, but it doesn't print. Works well for me; YMMV.[/QUOTE]

Thank you for this tip! This will save me many headaches!

whpalmer4 2011-09-11 12:44 PM

Bonus tip: see the help for Templates to see how you can arrange to have that setting on by default whenever you create a new document.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:57 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.