The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniPlan General (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Assign a period of time to work on a task each day (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=1887)

Ben Greenfield 2006-10-12 11:45 AM

Assign a period of time to work on a task each day
 
Is there a way to assign a period of time to work on a task each day.

I'm trying to allocate resources for a project and would like to schedule some time each day to use a resource.

The idea is that if a have task that takes 5 hours and I work one 1 hour a day on the task, I could schedule the resource so that other project tasks will know the availability of the resource.

Is this possible.

Thanks,

Ben

richmond 2006-11-20 11:54 AM

This is a good question that hasn't had a reply, so I'm giving it a bump. I'd like to know if it's possible too.

Ed Renaud 2006-11-20 04:23 PM

I'm interested also!

Ken Case 2006-11-21 07:18 AM

[QUOTE=Ben Greenfield]Is there a way to assign a period of time to work on a task each day.[/QUOTE]

Not exactly: resources have schedules, but tasks don't.

[QUOTE]I'm trying to allocate resources for a project and would like to schedule some time each day to use a resource.[/QUOTE]

One way of approaching this problem would be to split the resource into two resources, one which is available one hour a day and assigned to your five-hour task, and another which is available the rest of the time which you would use for your other project tasks.

mprewitt 2007-02-09 08:24 AM

I would like to see a "maximum hours devoted to task each day" feature.

Creating multiple "virtual resources" to handle this situation (what I understand Ken to be saying) would turn into a nightmare in my project. I've got 15 tasks in the project, with three staff resources handling those jobs over a period of months. Splitting those three staff into multiple staff resources as a workaround would throw off the entire timeline. Especially since some tasks require a staff resource's full time.

alansg 2007-02-09 10:30 AM

[QUOTE=mprewitt]I've got 15 tasks in the project, with three staff resources handling those jobs over a period of months. Splitting those three staff into multiple staff resources as a workaround would throw off the entire timeline. Especially since some tasks require a staff resource's full time.[/QUOTE]
While it might be considered a workaround, I've been setting the Assigned Amount for a resource assigned to a task to the level-of-effort being applied to the project by that resource.

So, if I want to commit a resource to "1 hour per day" on a particular task, I assign 12% (of an 8-hour day [approx]) of the resource to that task.

From my preliminary testing, that appears to level as I would expect.

YMMV.

mprewitt 2007-02-10 06:04 AM

[QUOTE=alansg]While it might be considered a workaround, I've been setting the Assigned Amount for a resource assigned to a task to the level-of-effort being applied to the project by that resource.

So, if I want to commit a resource to "1 hour per day" on a particular task, I assign 12% (of an 8-hour day [approx]) of the resource to that task.[/QUOTE]

Thanks, I have experimented with this too, and it seems to show promise of working well. Will need to research it further.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.