The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   Applying OmniFocus (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Omnifocus vs Toodledo? (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=17424)

ptizzl 2010-08-18 12:13 PM

Omnifocus vs Toodledo?

I am a college student, and I am trying to figure out the best system for me. I'm also a father, homeowner, and employee. I need something for my busy life.

I have been using Things for quite some time, and have been happy with it, until recently when I realized syncing is a huge disappointment.

In my search for what will work best, I have come across OmniFocus and Toodledo. I like the idea of Toodledo, and I currently own the iPhone and iPad apps for this system. I like the idea of syncing between my Macbook, my iPad, and my iPhone, as well as my Windows 7 computer, and any other computer I may be near via the web interface.

I realize I would be stuck with my Apple products with OmniFocus, but I was hoping someone could tell me why I would make the investment in the Omni Systems instead of the free (or $15 yearly) with toodledo, besides the fact the Omni looks prettier.

Thanks!

Brian 2010-08-18 01:24 PM

It's been a while since I looked at Toodledo, so if any of this is incorrect, please accept my apologies in advance. :-)

Off the top of my head, some advantages would be:[LIST][*]single-purchase vs. subscription payments [*]being able to keep all of your data on devices you control if privacy is important. (No third-party server required, in other words.)[*]all of OmniFocus' location-based features[*]the ability to create and save custom views of your database (perspectives)[*]Additional GTD support (the reviewing features, for example)[/LIST]
Other folks may have other ideas; hope this helps!

ptizzl 2010-08-18 08:54 PM

[QUOTE=Brian;83775]It's been a while since I looked at Toodledo, so if any of this is incorrect, please accept my apologies in advance. :-)