The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus 1 for Mac (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Scheduling a task for weekdays only (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=21612)

drs 2011-07-14 06:12 AM

Scheduling a task for weekdays only

Hi, I couldn't find anything in the help docs that explained how to schedule a task for weekdays only. Is there a way to do this?

Many Thanks,
David

FMiguélez 2011-07-14 06:52 AM

I am not an OF expert yet, but you could try:

- Setting the Start Date of the first task to today, and make it repeat every week. Do the same for each of the other weekdays (so you duplicate these 5 tasks, each repeating every week).
- Since OF's dates are not that smart yet, I just leave this kind of repeating tasks on iCal. Its alarm can send an email to OF. If you set things right, these tasks will appear in OF under the right context, project, and if you want to you can also automatically add flags, start and due dates and estimated task duration. This works especially for the tasks that are something like: [I]repeat on the last thursday of every 3 months[/I], or [I]repeat every Monday and Wednesday[/I], for instance

Lizard 2011-07-14 09:40 AM

There's no direct way to do this, but that is a very popular feature request.

FMiguélez is right, creating 5 separate tasks is one way around this. I take a slightly different approach. For one of my tasks, I just have it repeat every day, and on the weekends I mark it complete without actually doing anything.

whpalmer4 2011-07-14 11:06 AM

Or download Dan Byler's [URL="http://bylr.net/3/2008/02/omnifocus-defer-script/"]Defer script[/URL] and when you hit the weekend, defer 2 days.

drs 2011-07-14 01:17 PM

Thanks everyone for your very helpful suggestions.

santra 2012-02-15 12:37 AM

>that is a very popular feature request

This is ridiculous. The user community has been fighting for this FOR YEARS.