The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus Syncing (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=50)
-   -   Can I sync the iPad and iPhone w/out a Mac? [A: Yes! See thread.] (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=17929)

Jplang 2010-09-14 05:52 AM

Can I sync the iPad and iPhone w/out a Mac? [A: Yes! See thread.]

I'm new to Omnifocus and I've been using the iPad version since launch. Wanting to integrate it even more into my life, I decided to get the iPhone version too - assuming that I could sync the two. Now I've got both, but I can't figure out how to sync them. Is there a tutorial here that can help?

Jplang 2010-09-14 05:59 AM

Solved - went through mobile me. Thanks

Lizard 2010-09-15 10:48 AM

In case anyone else wanders through asking the same question... You can sync them together, but it has to go through some server -- MobileMe, Omni's sync server (in beta), or another WebDAV somewhere.

Emkwan 2010-10-22 01:43 PM

Sync options between iPad and iPhone

Hi guys. I currently am using things for mac iPhone and iPad. However the lack of cloud sync is making me look elsewhere. I want to know is it possible to sync omnifocus on the iPad with my iPhone 4 which I carry around together. I would be on the same wifi network. Can anyone indicate if this is possible and if so how to set this up.

Many thanks inadvance.

Brian 2010-10-22 05:13 PM

Merging two similar threads asking the same question, retitling the merged thread to make things a bit more findable.

Yep, OmniFocus for iPad and OmniFocus for iPhone can sync with each other; the Mac app is not required. You'll need someplace to store your sync data, and then the two devices can sync with each other via WebDAV.

(iOS devices can't be their own sync server the way a Mac running OS X can, so Bonjour sync is only an option if there's a Mac in there somewhere.)