The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   AppleScripting Omni Apps (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=46)
-   -   OO4 applescript (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=31221)

Carlos 2014-01-22 11:57 PM

OO4 applescript
 
Hi,
it's been a while since I played with applescript. However, I wanted to look at OO4 pro's applescript capabilities

- is there a need to somehow "register" OO4 within Automator? Currently, I have some actions in my library related to OmniOutliner, but when I run them, I get "New Outline File failed -- The document cannot be saved in 'OmniOutliner 3' format"

- similarly, in the AppleScript Editor, is there a way to show OmniOutliner related information in the Library (is there a *.sdef file; is there some documentation / list of available commands)?

Thanks

Carlos 2014-01-23 04:32 AM

ok, never mind the script editor part of the question... it's open dictionary (shift + cmd + O)... d'oh

Ken Case 2014-02-11 07:03 AM

[QUOTE=Carlos;129191]- is there a need to somehow "register" OO4 within Automator? Currently, I have some actions in my library related to OmniOutliner, but when I run them, I get "New Outline File failed -- The document cannot be saved in 'OmniOutliner 3' format"[/QUOTE]

Look in your automator action's script for a line which looks like this:

[CODE] save NewDocument in SaveLocation as "OmniOutliner 3"[/CODE]

The problem is that it's referring to the .oo3 file type using its old identifier "OmniOutliner 3". The solution is to leave off the file type altogether, so that line simply reads:

[CODE] save NewDocument in SaveLocation[/CODE]

Hope this helps!

awksedperl 2014-03-30 11:01 AM

[QUOTE=Ken Case;129534]Look in your automator action's script for a line which looks like this:

[CODE] save NewDocument in SaveLocation as "OmniOutliner 3"[/CODE]

The problem is that it's referring to the .oo3 file type using its old identifier "OmniOutliner 3". The solution is to leave off the file type altogether, so that line simply reads:

[CODE] save NewDocument in SaveLocation[/CODE]

Hope this helps![/QUOTE]

Hey, Ken, is that all we should have to do to make the Automator actions that shipped with OmniOutliner Pro 3.10.6 work with OmniOutliner (Pro) 4? I hacked the Contents/Info.plist within each action (which makes me very nervous, BTW) to remove references to "OmniOutliner Professional" and change references of "com.omnigroup.OmniOutlinerPro3" to "com.omnigroup.OmniOutliner4", but the "Export Outlines" action still barfs with "Can't get «class OOwt»." It would be better if you guys released OO4-compliant Automator actions, but if that's not going to happen, please give us some tips about how we can hack the OO3 ones 'em safely. Please let me know if this should be a new topic.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.