The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniPlan Extras (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=45)
-   -   OmniPlan and Jira (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=7856)

adupre 2008-04-26 08:00 AM

OmniPlan and Jira

I have been using OmniGraffle and OmniFocus and these applications rock!
So it was natural for me to turn to OmniPlan when the time came to start managing our department's software releases.
I have given it a go and it's a great tool in the same vein as the other two tools I am already using.
My organization uses Jira for issue tracking which is also a great tool and I would really like to tie the too together.
I was originally thinking of using the export feature of OmniPlan, but there would be no way for information to trickle from Jira back into OmniPlan.
Jira exposes a SOAP Api that I could certainly leverage, and while I have very little experience with AppleScript, I was wondering if I could leverage it to help with synchronization.
Thoughts and pointers would be very helpful.
Thanks!

traneHead 2008-05-09 02:33 AM

Me too!

Me too... I'm addicted to OmniFocus and it would be great if there was some way to syncronize between a project in Jira and one in OF.

adupre 2008-05-09 07:12 AM

Here's a start

Here's what I wrote, using AppleScript and leveraging the Omniplan API and the XMLRPC API.

It should be fairly self explanatory.
But here's the idea:
in Omniplan:
- on resources, add the custom field 'jira-user' and populate accordingly
- on tasks, add the custom field 'jira-id'. If populated, set to either the JIRA issue key or C if it is to be created by the script. (no value means it won't be handled by the script).

Open the project in question in Omniplan, run the script (from the Script Editor tool, with event log tab clicked to see the output, and potential errors).

I would recommend that you practice with a blank JIRA project :)