The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniWeb Bug Reports (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   document.writeln("<Prev") in Yahoo groups (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=911)

bethkatz17582 2006-06-29 02:56 PM

document.writeln("<Prev") in Yahoo groups
 
This is bizarre. In a Yahoo group I thought I was reading clearly and normally this morning (June 29), many of the links are now of the form
document.writeln("some text");

It looks right in an older Firefox and Safari as well as one WebKit13632.

For example, go to the public SeattleRobotics group:
[url]http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SeattleRobotics/[/url]
Click on the second message listed. When the message is displayed, above it in the light blue shading, you should see:
Message #x of n < Prev | Next >
but instead, I see:
Message #x of n document.writeln("< Prev"); | document.writeln("Next >");

I'm also seeing the titles of posts this way. If you click the Messages link at upper left, you'll see a list of messages. For me, the titles are in function form with a string parameter. So the link is:
[url]http://groups.yahoo.com/%22/group/SeattleRobotics/message/28131?l=1\%22[/url]
instead of:
[url]http://groups.yahoo.com/group/SeattleRobotics/message/28131[/url]

It looks like OW isn't translating the quote marks correctly. The code at that point in the source is:
document.writeln("<a href=\"/group/SeattleRobotics/message/28131\" ><span>Re: 3kg Robot Sumo</span></a>");

I would have sworn this was working correctly this morning. I've quit and restarted OW. I'm running OS X 10.4.7 (installed yesterday afternoon) and sp16. I'd be happy if this were a transient bizarre bug, but I'm reporting it anyway.

Jesse the K 2006-06-29 03:22 PM

Can't reproduce this with my setup
 
Followed your instructions, Beth, and OW sp16 with [B]OS 10.4.6[/B] looks fine here.

bethkatz17582 2006-06-29 06:48 PM

I even rebooted my system because we had thunderstorms. I still see this problem. I am blocking ads at Yahoo, but changing that setting didn't help. I'll check tomorrow from my laptop.

It seems to be related to having the quote marks escaped.

Handycam 2006-06-29 07:30 PM

It works fine for me as well, SP16 10.4.7

bethkatz17582 2006-06-30 03:07 PM

My laptop also exhibits the same behavior. In addition, for some time, the first time I sign-in to Yahoo, the Sign-in button says Search. The source code says Sign-in, but I see Search.

I've cleared the caches. I haven't thrown away my preferences. I suppose I should try that. Argh!

bethkatz17582 2006-07-01 01:56 AM

Saving and replacing my plist and OW folder in Application Support fixed the problem. There's something in my plist that is causing the problem. Interestingly, I have different plists on the two computers. The laptop shows the construction stripes on the title bar, and I'm sure there are other differences.

I'm stubborn though, I restored the broken files. I don't want to recreate my preferences from scratch right now.

Thank you for checking everyone.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:40 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.