The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniPlan General (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Assigning multiple resources at 100% each. (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=25457)

dmingay 2012-09-13 09:48 AM

Assigning multiple resources at 100% each.
 
Hi there,

Apologies for a bit of a newbie question: I want to be able to assign more than one resource, at 100% on a single task. This is because I don't want to split a single task into three separate ones for each resource.
I'd rather have a single task with three resources and a single cost calculated from that.

Any ideas?

Thanks


David

whpalmer4 2012-09-13 10:58 AM

This seems like such a simple question that I wonder if I'm reading it wrong and missing a much deeper question :-)

Let's say you have some task ("Dig a big hole") that you estimate will take 12 days of effort for 1 person working 100%, 8 hours per day (96 hours total). You assign your best worker, good old Resource 1:

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/826/screenshot20120913at114.png/][IMG]http://img826.imageshack.us/img826/2238/screenshot20120913at114.png[/IMG][/URL]

You need the hole completed sooner, so let's get Resource 2 on the job as well. Just click the Assignment button in the toolbar and check Resource 2 while leaving Resource 1 checked:

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/856/screenshot20120913at114.png/][IMG]http://img856.imageshack.us/img856/2238/screenshot20120913at114.png[/IMG][/URL]
(I turned on the Duration column also via View->View Options...)

Both resources are working at 100%. Let's throw Resource 3 into the mix:

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/853/screenshot20120913at114.png/][IMG]http://img853.imageshack.us/img853/2238/screenshot20120913at114.png[/IMG][/URL]

That's still not quite soon enough, so we'll toss in Resource 4, but we can only afford to allocation 50% of his time:

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/12/screenshot20120913at115.png/][IMG]http://img12.imageshack.us/img12/4997/screenshot20120913at115.png[/IMG][/URL]

I assigned Resource 4 in the same manner as the others, then used the inspector to edit the percentage assigned to this task.

Each full day 8+8+8+4 hours of effort will be expended on this task, and the task will be complete in just under 3 1/2 days.

Did I answer your question?

dmingay 2012-09-13 11:09 AM

Hi whpalmer4,

That did answer the question - thanks. Previously Omniplan wasn't allowing me to do this; it kept on moving the durations around, even though the 'Keep effort and Duraction fixed' was selected. Seems to work OK now, although I still have to remember the original duration to return to once I've added the 100% resources.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.