The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus for iPhone (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=49)
-   -   Waiting/On Hold contexts make tasks unavailable (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=12875)

andreyb 2009-06-24 02:06 PM

Waiting/On Hold contexts make tasks unavailable
 
I found another bug which is not in the list:
if action has "@Waiting" context assigned (the one that is there out of the box) it doesn't show up again under that context. The context displays "None available".
This action can still be found under projects->all actions.

whpalmer4 2009-06-24 02:37 PM

[QUOTE=andreyb;61683]I found another bug which is not in the list:
if action has "@Waiting" context assigned (the one that is there out of the box) it doesn't show up again under that context. The context displays "None available".
This action can still be found under projects->all actions.[/QUOTE]

No, unless I'm misunderstanding what you are reporting, this is the intended behavior. The Waiting context that comes with the default database is set as On Hold, which means that any actions assigned to this context will not be seen as Available. So, unless you change the settings on your iPhone/iPod to show Remaining actions in Contexts, they will not appear. Most of the time when working out of the Contexts display you are looking for actions that can be done immediately, so the default settings do not show actions which are not available.

andreyb 2009-06-25 10:42 PM

[QUOTE=whpalmer4;61686]No, unless I'm misunderstanding what you are reporting, this is the intended behavior. The Waiting context that comes with the default database is set as On Hold, which means that any actions assigned to this context will not be seen as Available. So, unless you change the settings on your iPhone/iPod to show Remaining actions in Contexts, they will not appear. Most of the time when working out of the Contexts display you are looking for actions that can be done immediately, so the default settings do not show actions which are not available.[/QUOTE]

Yes, you are correct and changing contexts settings does the trick. Thank you for explaining that. Somehow I didn't realized this and I obviously I didn't read the manual (now I feel that I should :) Sorry for the false alarm.

sevenupcan 2009-07-18 04:24 AM

What I don't understand though is why would you have a context which won't let you view all its related actions? I understand what they are trying to do, as in a action which is on hold is not actually something you can get done so therefore don't show it until you can.

BUT why even show the context if there is nothing in it. For the waiting context there will never be anything in it on the default settings.

What do I do if I want to do something about my waiting for actions or review them? Do I have to change the settings each time? I feel like I am using this app incorrectly or there is a missing link that makes on hold items work.

whpalmer4 2009-07-18 09:33 AM

[QUOTE=sevenupcan;62901]
BUT why even show the context if there is nothing in it. For the waiting context there will never be anything in it on the default settings.
[/quote]
You do the get the count of overdue items, even if none are available.
[quote]
What do I do if I want to do something about my waiting for actions or review them? Do I have to change the settings each time? I feel like I am using this app incorrectly or there is a missing link that makes on hold items work.[/QUOTE]
You do have to twiddle the settings so you can see those items, or perhaps leave them that way all the time. I would agree this is a place where the iPhone app is not as convenient to use as the Mac app.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.