The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus 1 for Mac (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   OF 1.8: Sidebar still resets to default width (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=17876)

makesense 2010-09-09 09:41 PM

OF 1.8: Sidebar still resets to default width
 
I'm testing OmniFocus 1.8 and still having issues from the previous 1.7.5 version not addressed.

One of them is unexpected resetting of the Sidebar to its default width. I'm unable to figure out the reasons so far.

RobTrew 2010-09-09 09:56 PM

I'm not seeing that ... do the options under
[INDENT]OF > Preferences > General > Open New Windows[/INDENT]
shed any light ?

makesense 2010-09-09 10:19 PM

[QUOTE=RobTrew;85303]I'm not seeing that ... do the options under
[INDENT]OF > Preferences > General > Open New Windows[/INDENT]
shed any light ?[/QUOTE]

Sorry, no.

But now I see what's happening:

OF 1.8
Sidebar width resets to default value each time I go to Contexts from Project view and vice versa.

OF 1.7.5
Sidebar did not reset its widts each time I switched to Contexts from Projects view and vice versa. But it did reset unexpectedly.

Ken Case 2010-09-09 10:25 PM

I don't think that should happen in the default configuration, but maybe a perspective you're using has a context mode sidebar width saved, and it's set to restore that layout whenever you activate that perspective?

makesense 2010-09-09 10:28 PM

[QUOTE=Ken Case;85308]I don't think that should happen in the default configuration, but maybe a perspective you're using has a context mode sidebar width saved, and it's set to restore that layout whenever you activate that perspective?[/QUOTE]

I made a clear install on a virtual machine - no settings from previous configuration.

I have only entered a couple of actions and added a couple of contexts and projects. I have not added any custom perspectives. So my configuration is very similar to default.

P.S.: Sorry for an overwhelming amount of questions that may follow from me - I'm new to OmniFocus and I'm hoping to use it for my business purposes and I have overwhelming amount of projects and actions that I would not love to lose neither I can afford time-consuming restoration of data when I'm on a project. :)

Ken Case 2010-09-09 10:56 PM

Sounds like something our QA Test Pilots should look into. Have you sent in a report to our support ninjas yet? (Choose "Send Feedback" from the Help menu, or just email [email]omnifocus@omnigroup.com[/email].)

redskinsfan 2010-09-10 12:00 PM

I'm having the exact same issue - my sidebar does not remember its width when switching to different perspectives. This happened in 1.7.5 and now in 1.8.

redskinsfan 2010-09-10 12:29 PM

Discovered the problem. Have to get the sidebar sized as you like, then hit Take Snapshot and make sure Restore Layout is selected in the Perspective's settings. Then when you switch between different perspectives, the sidebar gets restored to whatever it was when you took the snapshot. Hope this helps.

makesense 2010-09-10 10:02 PM

[QUOTE=redskinsfan;85393]Discovered the problem. Have to get the sidebar sized as you like, then hit Take Snapshot and make sure Restore Layout is selected in the Perspective's settings. Then when you switch between different perspectives, the sidebar gets restored to whatever it was when you took the snapshot. Hope this helps.[/QUOTE]

I guess Taking Snapshot changes all the default settings for the current Perspective? How to returned to the shipped ones?

ifonline 2010-09-11 03:18 AM

Perspectives -> Revert to Default View


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:46 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.