The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus 1 for Mac (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Perspectives and View Bar - do you actually find this intuitive? (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=5288)

zoltok 2007-10-25 09:07 AM

Perspectives and View Bar - do you actually find this intuitive?

I have one major stumbling block in using OF so far - the "view" bar and perspectives. I have been using the app for over two months and I still find these completely unintuitive. Don't get me wrong, I think the [B]concept[/B] of perspectives and the viewbar is great, but I find the implementation pretty confusing.

I never remember which dropdown menu is supposed to do what - I always get the two first ones confused and have to open and close them a few times to do what I'm trying to do (those little icons are completely unclear). I haven't saved any perspectives yet because I can't really figure out how best to be using them. And as many have mentioned, the fact that they [I]sort of [/I] are positioned above columns, but don't actually serve as sorting functions to what's directly below them - it just seems to fly in the face of every habit we've built about how we're supposed to sort information.

I would hate to see this app released with this view bar in it's current state, which just seems awkward and unintuitive. I know, all criticism and no suggestions - I'll try and come up with some ideas! Just wondering if others agree or disagree?

rod 2007-10-25 09:23 AM