The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus 1 for Mac (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Odd behavior when closing a perspective window (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=11635)

danielandrews 2009-03-15 04:36 PM

Odd behavior when closing a perspective window
 
So, I've noticed something lately when using Omnifocus and perspectives. I can consistently do the following:
[LIST=1][*]Switch to a perspective[*]Close the window[*]Click on the dock icon[*]The window title is the last used perspective, but the sorting options are not correct.[/LIST]
And I'd either like a) the default window to show when I close a window and then click on the dock icon, or b) the proper perspective info to be shown.

Any ideas?

danielandrews 2009-05-08 07:47 AM

I submitted this as a bug a while ago, sadly looks like there is still no known fix for it.

Toadling 2009-05-08 10:08 AM

Hmm, I'm not seeing this in 1.6.1. I switch to a perspective, close the window without quitting OmniFocus, then click the dock icon. A new window opens to my main perspective (i.e. the one I use most of the time) with all view options and window title displaying correctly.

Am I missing something to reproduce the problem?

-Dennis

danielandrews 2009-05-08 11:31 AM

[QUOTE=Toadling;59551]Hmm, I'm not seeing this in 1.6.1. I switch to a perspective, close the window without quitting OmniFocus, then click the dock icon. A new window opens to my main perspective (i.e. the one I use most of the time) with all view options and window title displaying correctly.

Am I missing something to reproduce the problem?

-Dennis[/QUOTE]

No, you're doing it about the same as I am. I've created new perspectives to test, and I always get the same issue. When I close the window and then click on the dock icon, I get a new window that opens up, it has the correct perspective name in the titlebar, but it has changed to what appears to be the LAST selected default perspective.

For example:[LIST][*]Click on a custom perspective[*]Click on the "flagged" built in perspective[*]Click back onto the custom perspective[*]Close the window[*]Click the dock icon, thus reopening the window[*]The window will say it's your perspective name, but it will have the settings of the previously selected default perspective.[/LIST]
I can't pinpoint what would be causing this, and it's pretty minor in the whole scheme of things, but I can't figure out what's making it happen.

What the settings should be:
[IMG]http://img.skitch.com/20090508-t8firr1qtgibauje3gct8mhycc.jpg[/IMG]

What the settings are when the window re-opens:
[IMG]http://img.skitch.com/20090508-1s81d43bwfn363q5sjihdfqwnr.jpg[/IMG]

Brian 2009-05-08 03:08 PM

I can repro this problem - I double-checked the database and had some trouble finding the ticket where we have it on file, though.

I'm sure it's in there, but just to be absolutely sure, I filed a second bug. Thanks, guys!

danielandrews 2009-05-08 03:37 PM

[QUOTE=Brian;59567]I can repro this problem - I double-checked the database and had some trouble finding the ticket where we have it on file, though.

I'm sure it's in there, but just to be absolutely sure, I filed a second bug. Thanks, guys![/QUOTE]

Thanks for the quick reply - you guys rock!

Toadling 2009-05-08 05:04 PM

Well, glad the bug got filed. But I'm still puzzled why I don't see this behavior. Maybe my database is just [I]special[/I]. :-)

-Dennis


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:48 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.