The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   Applying OmniFocus (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   Working with OmniFocus, OmniPlan and OmniOutliner (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=12602)

DamonC 2009-05-22 10:52 PM

Working with OmniFocus, OmniPlan and OmniOutliner

I'm a software developer, building applications in FileMaker Pro and I'm trying to decide on the best strategy for tracking my work. I'm becoming overwhelmed with where I'm storing my notes, planning and tracking tasks and projects, and I'm duplicating data in a number of places.

I use OmniFocus for tracking my life, work and personal. I don't feel this is the best place to track all the detail of projects I'm working on and feel it's best placed to track higher view items (project phases), setting start and due dates etc. I use OmniOutliner to track project details. I have to duplicate the information in OmniFocus as I can't enter project tasks without them being assigned to a project phase. I'm not really using OmniPlan yet and I'm thinking about how best to schedule the projects. I would have to duplicate the project phases and larger tasks into the schedule.

I also have a Customer Relationship Management database in FileMaker Pro where I track my customers, estimates, projects, invoices, purchase orders and payments. I create an estimate, which, if accepted, converts to a project. I enter the project's phases here and track the time each phase takes and then use the information for billing and an invoice is created based on the project information.

I'm struggling to work out the best way to manage this information and I'm concerned that I'm spending too much time managing my projects and not enough time actually working on them.

Does anyone else have a similar dilemma? Have you worked out a strategy for managing your work like this?