The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus Extras (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Duplicate Action (applescript request) (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=4297)

steve 2007-07-25 02:24 PM

Duplicate Action (applescript request)
 
If an applescripter would find this helpful, I would welcome a script that duplicated the selected row (next action).

For example, I might want to make minor changes in a next action.

Discuss proposal with Fred.
Discuss proposal with Jack.
Discuss proposal with Mary.

Or, I might want to check something off as complete, such as call Frank 858-9658, but since I didn't actually talk to Frank on the phone, I want to duplicate the task because I have to do it again.

Tim Wood made this applescript for omnioutliner:

tell application "OmniOutliner Professional"
set MyDoc to front document
set FirstRowID to id of first selected row of MyDoc
set FirstRow to a reference to row id FirstRowID of MyDoc
set MyRowIDs to id of every selected row of MyDoc
repeat with MyRowIndex from 1 to count of MyRowIDs -- force forward loop
set MyRowID to item MyRowIndex of MyRowIDs
duplicate row id MyRowID of MyDoc to before FirstRow
end repeat
end tell

Thanks,
Steve

curt.clifton 2007-07-25 03:55 PM

[QUOTE=steve]If an applescripter would find this helpful, I would welcome a script that duplicated the selected row (next action).[/QUOTE]

Duplicate is built-in to OF. Look at the Edit menu.

steve 2007-07-25 06:55 PM

Duh! That is pretty funny! Command+D. Boy was I making it complicated.

Thanks, Curt.

Steve

skillet 2011-09-13 11:33 AM

[QUOTE=curt.clifton;18088]Duplicate is built-in to OF. Look at the Edit menu.[/QUOTE]

I find myself in the context view 98% of the time and there is no option to duplicate an action without being in project view (any logical reason for that?). It would be great to be able to duplicate an action and mix this with some of the masterful scripts on this forum (i.e. [url]http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?p=101742#post101742[/url] and [url]http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=7057&highlight=defer[/url]).

When I double click on an action it takes a while for the Project window to open or (option click like it was for a short while in 1.9). "Show in Project Mode" for me takes about 3 seconds to switch back over I loose flow of where I was.

whpalmer4 2011-09-13 11:42 AM

Had some discussion of why Duplicate isn't available in context mode the other day: [url]http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=22073[/url]

skillet 2011-09-13 01:47 PM

[QUOTE=whpalmer4;101755]Had some discussion of why Duplicate isn't available in context mode the other day: [url]http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=22073[/url][/QUOTE]

Thank you!

Maybe I can figure out some tweak with "[URL="http://www.cerquant.com/omnifocus_scripts"]Delegated[/URL]"
which is built on [URL="http://www.rose-hulman.edu/~clifton/software.html#Await"]Complete and Await Reply[/URL]

skillet 2012-01-10 06:48 AM

1 Attachment(s)
[QUOTE=steve;18072]If an applescripter would find this helpful, I would welcome a script that duplicated the selected row (next action).
[/QUOTE]

The attachment works in Context view on multiple selections.

RobTrew 2012-01-13 08:12 AM

Particularly for use with Lion's full screen mode, it might be worth updating the window referencing in the light of [URL="http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=22468&highlight=lion+front+window"]this post[/URL].

(Inter alia, the idiom suggested there will ensure that the active rather than default document is referenced).


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.