The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus 1 for Mac (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Copy a list of items and make them separate items in OF? (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=20333)

leo 2011-03-06 06:59 AM

Copy a list of items and make them separate items in OF?
 
I received an email with a grocery list - the following is an example

Mushrooms (sliced ones)
Frozen veggies
Fresh spinach
salt, sugar
pepper
curry powder, cayenne or chili powder


I want to insert every item in the grocery list above into separate items into OF

So every line is 1 item and I want to make that one item each in OF to add to my grocery list.

Any suggestions on how to do it?

Lucas 2011-03-06 07:03 AM

I think if you have an action selected (but not editing — i.e. you clicked on the bullet point to select it) and then paste in the list it will come out as individual actions.

leo 2011-03-06 07:07 AM

[QUOTE=Lucas;94433]I think if you have an action selected (but not editing — i.e. you clicked on the bullet point to select it) and then paste in the list it will come out as individual actions.[/QUOTE]
Tried but it gives me an error that says

Unable to paste using type “Apple HTML pasteboard type”.

Invalid destination location

whpalmer4 2011-03-06 09:04 AM

Are you able to post into the notes field of an action? From there you should be able to copy and paste the whole block as Lucas suggested to get an action per row. I've never seen the error you mentioned and did spend a few minutes copying and pasting everything in sight trying to get it to happen. I do think that if you can successfully paste into the notes field you'll be able to then copy the notes field and paste as new rows. If not, try pasting into TextEdit and converting to Plain Text via Format->Make Plain Text. You don't get to keep any formatting when pasting into row names, so you aren't losing out by doing that.

leo 2011-03-06 09:46 AM

[QUOTE=whpalmer4;94440]Are you able to post into the notes field of an action? From there you should be able to copy and paste the whole block as Lucas suggested to get an action per row. I've never seen the error you mentioned and did spend a few minutes copying and pasting everything in sight trying to get it to happen. I do think that if you can successfully paste into the notes field you'll be able to then copy the notes field and paste as new rows. If not, try pasting into TextEdit and converting to Plain Text via Format->Make Plain Text. You don't get to keep any formatting when pasting into row names, so you aren't losing out by doing that.[/QUOTE]
Yes! whpalmer4 that is awesome! I did paste it into the notes field and then do what Lucas suggested and it is all well now :)

Many thanks! That should make my life a lot easier today!


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.