The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniWeb General (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Any way to change size of search field? (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=21346)

MLModel 2011-06-09 09:41 AM

Any way to change size of search field?
 
As displays get bigger, there is lots more room for toolbars. I use the separate location toolbar feature of OmniWeb, so there is a lot of empty space on my regular toolbar. The search field looks really tiny up there. I want to enlarge it, but can't figure out how. There was an old [URL="http://hints.macworld.com/article.php?story=20040515064449551"]Mac OS X Hints post[/URL] suggesting that changing the value of [FONT="Lucida Console"][SIZE="2"]maxSize[/SIZE][/FONT] in the [FONT="Lucida Console"][SIZE="2"]SearchField[/SIZE][/FONT] section of [FONT="Lucida Console"][SIZE="2"]itemInfoByIdentifier[/SIZE][/FONT] in [FONT="Lucida Console"][SIZE="2"]OmniWeb.app/Contents/Resources/English.lproj/BrowserWindow.toolbar[/SIZE][/FONT], but I tried changing that and nothing happened.

Ideally I should be able to just drag out the size I want; second choice is to set a size somewhere in the preferences; third choice, which I don't mind, is to edit a resource file.

whpalmer4 2011-06-09 02:51 PM

I just tried it with those instructions and had it work; are you sure you followed them exactly, including quitting the application before editing? I made both the minimum and maximum size larger:

[code]
SearchField = {
paletteLabel = "Search Field";
label = "Search";
nullMenu = "(Search)";
minSize = (150, 23.0 );
maxSize = ( 300, 23.0 );
[/code]

with the following result:

[URL=http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/703/screenshot20110609at354.png/][IMG]http://img703.imageshack.us/img703/2294/screenshot20110609at354.png[/IMG][/URL]

MLModel 2011-06-10 03:27 AM

Didn't work with a separate location bar
 
Aha. Thanks for the verification. I had a separate location bar when I did this. I just tried again, and it still didn't work. But then, without quitting, I turned off the separate location bar, went into the toolbar customization dialog, where the location bar no longer appeared, and added it back -- a known problem with removing the separate location bar. The search field was still unaffected. I removed it, put it back, and got the desired results.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:27 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.