The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus for iPad (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Using Omnifocus for iPad as a standalone (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=22045)

Jem4270 2011-09-02 05:49 AM

Using Omnifocus for iPad as a standalone

I'm new to both the iPad and GTD. I'm also a PC user. I don't have a Mac or iPhone. I've been doing a lot of research on GTD apps for the iPad, and keep coming back to Omnifocus.

Is Omnifocus worth the money if I plan to use it as a standalone on the iPad, or is it necessary to have it synced to a Mac to get the most out of it? Or, would it be better for me to look at other apps that would sync to a website?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm driving myself crazy looking at apps!!

Stargazer 2011-09-02 07:51 AM

I use OF on iPad without desktop (though I did later get it on iPhone as well. The iPad version of OF is fully functional, and I think many folks consider it to be easier to use than the desktop version. That said, it is an iPad app, meaning that you'll have to be comfortable typing on the iPad and viewing things through the iPad interface to use it. But then that's true of all iPad apps. You certainly do not need to have a desktop version of OF to use the iPad version.

I checked a few other iPad alternatives like Appigo's ToDo and Toodledo and Things, but ultimately rejected them because I wanted the features that OF offered (sync, subtasks, folders, etc.).

My only caveat would be that I find the usefulness of OF to be much greater when I can view my information on my iPhone as well as iPad, because I always have my iPhone with me. With both sync'd together, I can use the iPhone as an all-the-time capture device, as well as being able to use it for errands, grocery lists, and so on without having to lug the iPad everywhere.