The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus 1 for Mac (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Handling of actions with no contexts (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=10933)

cajaygle 2008-12-31 09:27 AM

Handling of actions with no contexts

Two questions about how OF handles actions that don't have contexts. Yes, I'm a newbie.

First, I have a single actions project. Actions with contexts are shown in blue, while actions without contexts are shown in gray. Why the distinction? I feel like OF is pushing me to have contexts for all actions, but sometimes a context is really not meaningful or useful.

Second, I've created a context perspective to show items that are due soon. No contexts are selected so all are shown. Group by context, sort by due, action status is due soon. This perspective is showing me actions that have due dates and are due soon. But it's also showing me the actions from my single actions project that don't have a context set. This seems like a bug to me. If I set a context they don't show in this perspective. If it's not a bug can someone explain why these no-context actions should be considered as "due soon"?

Thanks.

curt.clifton 2008-12-31 09:39 AM

OF is pushing you to have contexts for all items. The assumption is that an item without a context hasn't been fully processed. To keep it from slipping through the cracks, OF treats it differently.

You can set a default context for your single action list: click on the list itself and use the inspector to set the context. Then items added to the list will be assigned that default context if they don't already have one set. (If you truly can do the items that don't have a context anywhere, then you could create an "anywhere" context for your default.)

cajaygle 2008-12-31 02:58 PM