The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus Extras (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=44)
-   -   Parse tasks with transport text... (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=20085)

t.h.x. 2011-02-09 10:00 AM

Parse tasks with transport text...
 
Today I had some problems with a small script using the 'parse tasks with transport text' AS command. After some investigation I was able to reproduce the reason for my confusion:

Create a folder
Create a project below this folder named 'Test 1'
Create a second project below this folder named 'Test'

Run the following AS snippet:

tell application "OmniFocus"
set theTaskText to "--Testtask >Test @Home"
tell default document
set theResult to parse tasks with transport text (theTaskText as rich text)
end tell
end tell

I would expect that the new task is created in 'Test', because that's the name I provided, but to my surprise it ends in 'Test 1'. If you change the order of 'Test' and 'Test 1', the task will be created in the right 'Test' project.

It looks like OF searches for the first project where parts of the name are equal to the given project name, no matter if there is a project with *exactly* the same name as the search pattern. Is this expected behavior?
Is there a way to ensure that my task will be created in the correct place?

A short test shows the same behaviour for the predefined mail rule in OF…


Thanks,
Tom

Brian 2011-02-09 12:48 PM

Hmmm... can I ask what version of OmniFocus do you have installed, and what version of the OS your Mac is running?

When I work through these steps with OmniFocus 1.8.2 on my 10.6.6 machine, the applescript creates the action inside the "Test" project, even when that's underneath the "Test 1" one in the sidebar. We did fix bug similar to this a while back - if you do have an earlier build of the app installed, maybe it predates that fix?

If neither the app version or the OS versions differ, can you email our [EMAIL="omnifocus@omnigroup.com"]support ninjas[/EMAIL]? It sounds like there's some small difference between our configurations that's causing your Mac to tickle a bug that my setup doesn't. We'd want to fix that. :-)

Thanks for the help with this!

t.h.x. 2011-02-09 05:34 PM

This is on OF 1.8.2 (v77.71 r141655) & OSX 10.6.6, German localisation.
I'll contact the support ninjas. Thanks.

Tom


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.