The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniWeb General (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   Recent 1Password versions no longer working on OmniWeb (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=22383)

jwthomas 2011-10-15 09:28 PM

Recent 1Password versions no longer working on OmniWeb
 
Agile's 1Password Preferences still say it's supported, but not on my OS 10.6.8. Anyone else here having problems with 1P 3.5.8 and 3.5.9?

jwthomas 2011-10-16 06:23 AM

The above should read 1P 3.8.6 and 3.8.9. All these new version numbers on everything are driving me crazy :)

whpalmer4 2011-10-16 12:07 PM

I'm using Version 3.8.9.BETA-2 (build 31177) together with OmniWeb sneaky peek 5.11 (v622.16 r151183) without appreciable difficulty...

jwthomas 2011-10-16 10:11 PM

Everything's working now. An Agile employee showed me the trick to reconnecting 1P and OmniWeb.

Uli Zappe 2011-11-28 03:51 PM

Dear jwthomas, if you ask the forum community for a problem solution, but then get it elsewhere, please post the solution in the forum. Saying "someone showed me the trick" is not especially helpful for other forum members who experience the same issue and therefore come to this thread …

Thanks!

Uli

jwthomas 2011-11-28 09:40 PM

[QUOTE=Uli Zappe;104499]Dear jwthomas, if you ask the forum community for a problem solution, but then get it elsewhere, please post the solution in the forum. Saying "someone showed me the trick" is not especially helpful for other forum members who experience the same issue and therefore come to this thread …[/QUOTE]

You're obviously right. The only reason I didn't give the solution was that apparently no one else had experienced the same problem.

The solution: Open 1Password, go to Preferences, unclick "Other Browsers" box; open OmniWeb, click on "Other Browsers" box in 1Password, close 1 Password. The 1P button should now be available in the OmniWeb "Customize Toolbar" popup.

Uli Zappe 2011-11-29 06:59 AM

[QUOTE=jwthomas;104507]The solution: […][/QUOTE]

Thanks!

Just for the record, for whatever reason, I additionally had to click "Help > Troubleshooting > Reset Folder Permissions" before, before this worked for me.

scgf 2012-01-04 09:50 AM

OmniWeb, Password Manager and Lion
 
If you want to run OmniWeb on Lion then LastPass works well and it's free. It will import your 1Password login data too. LastPass has extensions for Safari, Chrome and FireFox but provides bookmarklets to use with other browsers. These work well with OmniWeb for login usernames and passwords as well as filling in personal info and credit card info.

At last I can use my favourite web browser again!

Uli Zappe 2012-01-04 10:46 AM

[QUOTE=scgf;105826]If you want to run OmniWeb on Lion then LastPass works well[/QUOTE]
Which version of LastPass do you use? I only find versions listed for Safari, Camino, Chrome, Opera and Firefox.

scgf 2012-01-04 10:54 AM

Basically you can set up LastPass using Forefox with the LastPass extension. This will allow you to import all your passwords and login information you exported from 1Password. LastPass is unlike 1Password in that your data is stored encrypted online. Once you have done this, go to [URL="http://helpdesk.lastpass.com/bookmarklets/"]this page[/URL] where you can read about the bookmarklets which can be used in OmniWeb.

While not as elegant as 1Password it works well and at least lets you use OmniWeb once more on Lion.

There is a free standalone app called PocketPass which pulls down all your info in case you just want to view some info you have stored. You can also access all your data by logging on to your account at [url]www.lastpass.com[/url].

Lastly there is an iPhone and iPad app which has an integral browser, like 1Password, but the bookmarklets work well in Safari on the iPad/iPhone.

Hope this helps.

Uli Zappe 2012-01-04 11:00 AM

[QUOTE=scgf;105835]Hope this helps.[/QUOTE]
Thanks for the super-fast reply! :–)

I’ll look into that.

Robert Black 2012-09-12 08:13 PM

GUI scripting a link from Omniweb to 1Password and back again
 
I've hacked together a cludgy solution for myself that works under Mountain Lion, OmniWeb 5.11, and 1Password 3.9.6. It uses Applescript and GUI scripting to get around the fact 1Password isn't scriptable.

The script gets the Domain Name from the URL of the front window/tab in OmniWeb, and then uses GUI scripting to search for it in 1Password. If 1Password is locked, the script pauses for 5 seconds to allow you to unlock it manually. It then searches for the Domain Name and copies the User Name and Password of the 1st matching login record. Having done so, it returns to OmniWeb so I can paste these values into the login fields myself.

Because of the way this references UI elements, it may not work for you, or it may break suddenly if there's an update to 1Password. That's the nature of GUI scripting. Sorry!

But I'm including it here, because others may find it useful, or it may serve as a starting point for others to modify to their own ends.

My script also takes advantage of Keyboard Maestro 5 for two things: To run the script with a keyboard shortcut; and because both a user name and password are returned, I take advantage of Keyboard Maestro's multiple clipboards, which is why the script copies both the name and password to the clipboard one after the other. That doesn't make much sense without multiple clipboards.

Hope this is of mild help to someone out there. (This script is supplied as-is - I can't modify it for other people.)

Cheers
Robert Black

[CODE]tell application "OmniWeb"
set a_tab to active tab of front browser
set the_url to address of a_tab
set the_domain to word 2 of the_url -- as chance would have it, that's the domain
end tell

tell application "1Password"
activate
tell application "System Events"
tell process "1Password"
click menu item "Main Window" of menu 1 of menu bar item "Window" of menu bar 1
if menu item "Unlock" of menu 1 of menu bar item "1Password" of menu bar 1 exists then
say "Pausing for 5 seconds"
delay 5
end if
click menu item "Logins" of menu 1 of menu bar item "Go" of menu bar 1
click menu item "Find Item" of menu 1 of menu item "Find" of menu 1 of menu bar item "Edit" of menu bar 1
set value of text field 1 of window "1Password" to the_domain
delay 0.5 -- allow time for the search to work. This value may need to be increased.
set pass_word to get value of static text 7 of scroll area 1 of splitter group 1 of splitter group 1 of window 1
set user_name to get value of static text 5 of scroll area 1 of splitter group 1 of splitter group 1 of window 1

end tell
end tell
end tell
set the clipboard to pass_word
delay 1 -- Keyboard Maestro seems to need a second or so here to recognise the clipboard has been changed by the script rather than user input.
set the clipboard to user_name -- Because I'm using Keyboard Maestro 5, this second Set Clipboard pushes the value onto a clipboard stack
tell application "OmniWeb"
activate
end tell[/CODE]


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:45 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.