The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   Applying OmniFocus (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=51)
-   -   "Temporary" Single-Action Lists? (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=15919)

scrounger 2010-04-10 10:40 AM

"Temporary" Single-Action Lists?

OF newbie here. The basic thing I'm trying to do is manage lots of small unrelated non-project-ish tasks. I understand that Single Action Lists are the orthodox method for those. But one problem I foresee is this:

[B]On the one hand[/B], there are always new non-project-ish items being created, so I'd want my SAL to pretty much live forever. It may occasionally (rarely) become empty, but it would soon fill up again.

[B]On the other hand[/B], although I guess there's no fundamental problem with such an "immortal" SAL, it irks me. In the same way that I like the feeling of completing a Project, I also like the feeling of getting some "blob" of single actions done, dusted, gone.

So, any thoughts on the following method?

Each month, I'd create a brand new "dated" SAL. So I'd have "March 2010" and "April 2010" etc. Then, any non-project item that I create in March would go into the "March 2010" SAL; any non-project item created in April would go into the "April 2010" SAL. And so on. Note that items go into the dated SAL according to when I *create* them, and not when they are due to be done or started or whatever.

Then the crucial thing then is this. I'd keep any given dated SAL alive until its last item was handled (done, dropped, whatever), but I'd consider it closed for *new* items, once the month had moved on. So, once May (say) arrives, no more new items could be added the April (or previous) SALs. Any given dated SAL is closed once it becomes empty (i.e. all its items have been handled) *and* the date has now moved on to a new month.