The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniWeb General (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   How to emulate IE? (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=7904)

suzstephens 2008-05-04 09:55 AM

How to emulate IE?
 
I downloaded Omniweb after reading that it could be used to log into the back offices of sites such as MLS Board listings sites that only allow access vis Internet Explorer/Windows. I can't figure out how to do that, and am getting "wrong browser" error messages when I try to access my site back offices. How exactly can I make this work?

Forrest 2008-05-04 11:29 AM

With the site open you want to make the change for -
Site Preferences: Other: Identify to web servers...

suzstephens 2008-05-04 01:39 PM

Forrest, are we talking about the same version of OmniWeb -- v5.7? I don't see any "Other" under either Application or Site Preferences. I've browsed through all the preferences several times and haven't seen "identify to web servers".

ata 2008-05-04 01:50 PM

Once you're on the site in question, go to View -> Show Page Info, click on the Preferences tab in the panel that appears, and therein click the Other tab.

Just realize that a lot of these sites block non-IE browsers because they actually require IE-specific features. ActiveX, VBScript, whatever. Not that that's excusable or remotely reasonable... I just wanted to point out that all this will do is make the server think you're running IE so it won't block you. Beyond that, it won't "emulate IE".

Forrest 2008-05-04 02:07 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I've attached a screenshot of what it looks like.

suzstephens 2008-05-04 08:05 PM

OK, got it. Thanks folks!

xmccain 2008-06-11 11:09 AM

ie specific websites
 
Just a quick question here. Similary to suzstephens, I need to access the mls website, which they say needs ie 6 or higher. Do we know that the fix discussed in the earlier posts will make the mls website accessible through omniweb? I haven't downloaded it yet to try it, but I thought I would make sure before buying the license.

Forrest 2008-06-11 11:33 AM

It all depends on the site. If they are just forcing users to use IE so they don't have to field calls from people with other browsers, it should work. If they have poorly coded their site and used proprietary and non-standard methods to build the site, it probably wont work.

You can always download OW as a trial and give it a go. If it works, then you can buy.

xmccain 2008-06-11 11:39 AM

Alright cool, thanks.

So steps wise. Once I log into the website in question, follow the steps "ata" mentioned in the 5-4-8 post?

Forrest 2008-06-11 12:41 PM

Yeah. You may have to delete your cookies for the site as well. (Some sites set a cookie telling the site you've been rejected so changing your browser settings still yields a rejected attempt.)


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.