The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniGraffle General (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   store floor plan (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=20194)

maenad 2011-02-18 07:37 PM

store floor plan
 
I just started using OmniGraffle to create floor plans for my stores. I would like to put the dimensions of walls, gondolas, display tables and such. Also I want to put accurate distances between objects. Is there an easy way to do this? Sometimes when I move objects I will see the lines and numbers that I want. I would like it to look like a blueprint or something like it.

whpalmer4 2011-02-19 12:43 PM

Yes, OmniGraffle has support for doing things like this.

First thing you want to do is to set up a drawing scale and units for your canvas, with the Canvas:Size inspector (cmd-3). You may also want to turn on the grid display (same inspector, Grid tab), and the smart guides (Arrange->Guides->Smart {Alignment|Distance} Guides).

Make yourself a pair of horizontal and vertical lines with arrowheads that look like |< and >| by drawing lines, selecting them, opening the Style:Lines and Shapes inspector (cmd-1) and choosing the arrowheads. If you hold down the shift key while drawing them, you'll get perfectly horizontal or vertical lines. Next, select one of the lines, option-double-click on it, and it should create a line label for you. Without clicking anywhere else, use Edit->Insert Variable->Line Length to make that into a magic line length variable which displays the length of that line. Repeat with the other line. Now you can just duplicate those lines and drag them to any place where you want to show a measurement on your diagram, adjusting them to match the size of the object or distance being illustrated. Be sure to drag on the line itself or you'll just pull the label off...

whpalmer4 2011-02-19 06:58 PM

Sorry, I didn't realize that the scale feature was an OmniGraffle Pro-only feature. You'll want to pick a diagram scale that isn't too hard to apply manually :-) If you're using English units, I would suggest using a minor grid spacing of 12 if you have the major grid representing 1 foot.

Also, line labels have some inspector goodies in the Properties: Geometry inspector (cmd-2) which allow you to control exact placement and orientation of the labels.


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:23 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.