The Omni Group Forums

The Omni Group Forums (http://forums.omnigroup.com/index.php)
-   OmniFocus 1 for Mac (http://forums.omnigroup.com/forumdisplay.php?f=38)
-   -   Planning in Context Mode (http://forums.omnigroup.com/showthread.php?t=9503)

LifeBoy 2008-08-21 05:24 AM

Planning in Context Mode

Newbie here. When I'm in Context view I actually like to do much of my planning because sometimes I like to be able to see all the items in a particular Context while I’m adding Actions (or Projects to be) that have that Context. By default these my Actions are added to a Single Action List called ‘Miscellaneous'. When I try to create Sub-Actions for one of these Actions OmniFocus does not allow me. There for I can not promote the Action to a Project (whilst staying in Context View) unless I type or paste the Project name into the Project field which means instead of promoting that Action to a Project I create a New Project with that one Action inside it. I wish more planning could be done in Context View. When I’m viewing everything by Context I’m often inspired to create new Projects or start building Projects out of Single Actions but I can’t without go back to planing view. This kind of interrupts my focus. Always switching back and forth between the views. Anyone know what I’m saying or have any suggestions that might help me better use OmniFocus. Are there other threads that regard my thoughts? Much Appreciated! :-)

~lifeboy

whpalmer4 2008-08-21 08:54 AM

Well, one obvious suggestion: use two windows, one in project/planning mode to do the actual work, and another in context mode to see the contexts. Arrange them so you can see both simultaneously, as needed. File->New Window will get you another window.

I don't think it makes a lot of sense to be constructing projects in the context view, given that it is always trying to sort your actions!

LifeBoy 2008-08-21 09:07 AM