View Single Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by withnail View Post
* Focus
* Layout
* Expansion
* Selection
* Settings from a Context mode perspective:

What are these features, what do they do, I've been playing all day and am still not sure for certain.
There is quick explanation in this thread.

The Restore checkboxes allow you to preserve aspects of a perspective when you switch perspectives within the same window. In the following examples, Perspective X represents a custom perspective, and Current View represents any view or perspective other than Perspective X.

Focus - Preserves the project(s) focus assigned in Perspective X settings. When you create Perspective X, you can focus on a project or projects, rather than see all projects. If you check this box, switching from Current View to Perspective X will display only the focused on projects (or no focus) as assigned in Perspective X.

For example, Current View has a focus on Project A, ie only displays actions in Project A and sub-folders of Project A. Perspective X has no focus and the “Restore: Focus” checkbox in Perspectives > Show Perspectives is checked. Switching from Current View to Perspective X will drop focus on Project A and display all* projects. If “Restore: Focus” is not checked for Perspective X, then only Project A will continue to be displayed after switching from Current View to Perspective X.

*According to the the “Project Sidebar Filter” view bar settings for Perspective X. So if Perspective X only displays Active projects, switching from Current View to Perspective X would drop focus on Project A and display all Active projects.

Layout - Preserves the appearance of toolbar and sidebar, and the presence or absence of columns in Perspective X. If you check this box, switching from Current View to Perspective X will display only the OF window layout items assigned in Perspective X. If this checkbox is not selected, switching from Current View to Perspective X will continue to display layout items assigned in Current View.

For example, Current View uses the default toolbar, shows the sidebar, and displays the Name, Context, Due, and Duration columns. Perspective X uses a customized toolbar, hides the sidebar, and displays the Name, Project, and Flagged columns. If the “Restore: Layout” checkbox in Perspectives > Show Perspectives is checked for Perspective X, switching from Current View to Perspective X displays the customized toolbar, hides the sidebar, and displays the Name, Project, and Flagged columns.

Expansion - Preserves which items are expanded or collapsed in Perspective X. Projects and groups can be expanded or collapsed, as can action notes. If you check this box, switching from Current View to Perspective X will display items collapsed or expanded as assigned in Perspective X. If this checkbox is not selected, switching from Current View to Perspective X will continue to display collapsed or expanded items as assigned in Current View.

For example, Current View expands only items in Project B and Project C with all other items collapsed. Perspective X expands selected items in Project D. If the “Restore: Expansion” checkbox in Perspectives > Show Perspectives is checked for Perspective X, switching from Current View to Perspective X will expand only selected items in Project D and collapse all other items.

Selection - Preserves which folder or folders are selected in the sidebar in Perspective X. When you click on a project in the sidebar, it is highlighted to indicate it is selected, and the task pane only displays the items in the highlighted project(s). Selected project(s) can be saved as part of a perspective. If you check this box, switching from Current View to Perspective X will highlight selected project(s) as assigned in Perspective X, and the corresponding items in the highlighted project(s) will appear in the task pane. If this checkbox is not selected, switching from Current View to Perspective X will continue to display the current highlighted project(s) and their corresponding items in the task pane.

For example, Current View has Project A selected in the sidebar (with Project A items displayed in the task pane). Perspective X opens with Project C selected in the sidebar (with Project C items displayed in the task pane). If the “Restore: Selection” checkbox in Perspectives > Show Perspectives is checked for Perspective X, switching from Current View to Perspective X will select Project C in the sidebar (with Project C items displayed in the task pane). If this checkbox is not checked, switching from Current View to Perspective X will continue to select Project A in the sidebar since it is the current project selected.

Last edited by kaijin; 2009-08-30 at 03:29 PM..