The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniGraffle > OmniGraffle General
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

2 newbie questions Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hi there,

Wow, OmniGraffle is a very cool program. I'm very new to it and haven't (yet) found a way to do what I want in the documentation.

Is there a way to have new magnets be created automatically and snap to grid. (or I guess make it by default that new objects have several more magnets on them by default) 4 is often way too few for me and I have to create new ones, reposition them, etc. which is tedious.. seems there must be a better way.

Are there any good "person" stencils.. (i.e. human images... line drawings of people, men women, icon-like or otherwise) .. I'd like to do an organizational /social network chart..

oh.. i guess I have 3 questions..

Is there documentation on how to create a stencil ?

cheers,
beta

I see that the option key allows me to connect the line/arrow at whatever point I like... however, it doesn't create a magnet at the line/arrow begin and end point.. Is there a way to make it so that a magnet will be created at the nearest gridline that intersects with the shape boundary I am trying to connect to ?

I see that I can set the default magnets for up to 5 per side.. that helps a lot..

what I'm finding is that when I have a complicated diagram with lots of interconnectivity, when I start to move objects around, the connections don't maintain their order/form very well.. does anyone have any suggestions for "best practices" when creating complicated diagrams ?

or any drawing tips in general.. ?