The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniWeb > OmniWeb General
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Omniweb keyboard browsing. Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hello there. I'm new to OmniWeb. I come from the land of Opera, since 2.0

Ive become very profficient with Opera but the one thing that annoyed me most about Opera, and the one thing that I find absolutely amazing about OmniWeb is workspaces. I could go in depth as to why I love this feature so much, but I don't need to I think.

The thing that I cant figure out so far with OmniWeb is how to setup an efficient browsing setup for primarily keyboard usage. I've become very, very used to Opera's slick keyboard-based browser ability (I hit the z/x keys in every app I use, damnit) and I really dont think I could, and know that I certainly don't want to, get used to browsing with a mouse again.

Are there a good selection of keyboard browsing shortcuts (for scrolling, selecting tabs quickly, browsing links, history navigation etc..) and/or a way to change keyboard shortcuts without the need of prefacing everything with .

Thanks for reading :)

Scrolling - spacebar/shift-spacebar to scroll down and up one page at a time respectively.

Command-up/down to move through the tabs (N.B. there is currently a bug in the 5.6 sp whereby if a text entry field has focus, these don't work)

Browsing links - when the page has focus, press the first letter of the link (repeatedly for lots of links starting with the same letter). Note - another bug that has been present since the switch to WebKit with version 5.5 - pages don't get focus until you click on them.