Uh? Are you referring to "Edits in progress should no longer get lost when changes are synchronized from another computer"? This doesn't seem to me like a real data loss problem, but really a borderline situation. Additionally, it doesn't refer to any loss of data that has been entered in OF, only to data that is being entered at the very moment when sync takes place...
I think that what all OF users can attest to however much they dislike the interface or have needs that are not addressed (tags, etc.) is that it is the most solid piece of GTD software out there in terms of data safety.
1. Items deleted directly during sync.
2. Or you can lose your data afterwards as a result of mess, non-synced items (such scenarios are multiple according to issues reported in Sync forum).