The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Confusing...?! Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I'm new to the whole GTD concept (I have the book currently unread, I'm too busy!). I get "projects" and "contexts" mixed up and in OmniFocus it would really help a beginner if it shows (in Planning view on Inbox) what each column is:- either Projects or Contexts.

Also the intro video shows start and end dates, now running Omnifocus and I find no dates are shown.

I also found the Guide to using Omnifocus was getting in the way, so I just ticked them all as though they're done and this greatly reduced the list in the Inbox, but it deleted them as well, luckily I just found "Add Welcome Template" on the help menu which bought them back. Good thinking guys!

Also I thought I could add things to more than one context, at least I think it's context.

Can anyone who has now got a grip on this explain it?!

Thank you.

Last edited by ianonline; 2007-11-21 at 10:21 AM..

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianonline View Post
Also the intro video shows start and end dates, now running Omnifocus and I find no dates are shown.
Control-click on the bar with headings will let you show columns you want.

Quote:
Also I thought I could add things to more than one context, at least I think it's context.
Actions can have only one context. That said, contexts can be nested, so if you have an "email" context within a "computer" context within a "work" context, any action inside might be considered to be contained by all three of those.

Don't know if that helps, or just confuses you further.

Reading the book is worth the time, I promise.

Quote: