The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

New to OF - some questions Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Hi, I am new to OF, moving over from Things. i just installed the software yesterday so I am very caught up in the learning curve but can already tell I'm going to love it! I have a few questions. Actually I had a ton of questions but I wound up figuring most of them out once I started typing up the questions and messing around with OF more:-)

Here is a basic overview of my setup:

I manage multiple properties spread out over different locations. Call them property a, b and c. I have many projects going on at each property as well as other projects at work, home, etc...

I have set up project folders for work and home. Within work I have subfolders for each property so I can quickly look at property specific projects and I have a few other sub folders to narrow down other aspects of my work.

I have contexts of
Errand
Home
Office
Property - (with subs for property a, b, and c. {for things I can only do while at a certain property})
Contact - (with subs of all the people i regularly communicate with)
Waiting - (with subs of all the people i regularly communicate with marked 'on hold')

This way if i have an action such as email, call or talk to bob about x I make the context Contact:Bob. If i call and get voice mail (that never happens does it?) I leave a message and now I'm waiting for bob to call back, so i just make a note of time I called and change context to Waiting:Bob

OK- so a couple of questions