The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Personal vs. Work setups Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Folks,

I've been using OF for about 18 months, and have tried several times to combine my personal and work lists so I only have a single database. Until the syncing functionality, this was never very useful, but is something that is a lot more realistic now.

Unfortunately I'm hitting some snags in behavior that are blocking me from being completely comfortable doing this, and I'd like your thoughts on solutions.

My current flow is to have "personal" and "work" folders, and sync the database between the two machines. On my "personal" machine, all my perspectives are focused on that folder, and vice versa on my work machine. This actually works almost perfectly in the 90% case: I see only projects and actions specific to the location.

Where this starts to fail though is with contexts.

As an example, I have a "Contexts" perspective. This is meant to show me just the actions I can take in, say, "work". And it does this admirably: My list of actions is only those in the "work" folder.

But the sidebar continues to show contexts that have "personal" items associated with them (even if those items don't show up as actionable). This means that my list of "active" contexts looks like this:

* home
* calls
* blog
*[list of people, personal and work]
* San Francisco
* etc.

Some of these don't have any visible actions because they're in the "personal" folder, yet the contexts show up. I also have items in my "No contexts" view for the same reason.