The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniWeb > OmniWeb General
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Search in Google. Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am new to OmniWeb and experiencing a problem with the control-click menu in various apps. Even while writing this thread in OmniWeb, if I select a word, control-click and then choose "search in Google" from the menu, Safari starts up and searches Google. How do I change this default action so that OmniWeb is used instead? I am using OmniWeb-5.6 and OS X Tiger (10.4.4).

Short answer - you can't as this is Apple's menu shortcut, not OmniGroup's. It is hard coded to go to Safari instead of your default browser.

Quote:
Originally Posted by globetrotterdk View Post
I am new to OmniWeb and experiencing a problem with the control-click menu in various apps. Even while writing this thread in OmniWeb, if I select a word, control-click and then choose "search in Google" from the menu, Safari starts up and searches Google. How do I change this default action so that OmniWeb is used instead? I am using OmniWeb-5.6 and OS X Tiger (10.4.4).
I don't have "Search in Google" in the contextual menu in OW 5.8 nor is it in any other menu. What's up with that?
The only other way to have google search the selected text is the services menu, again this opens Safari.

Will OG add a "Search in Google" contextual menu item so it actually opens a new Tab in OW and performs the Google search?