The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus for iPad
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Help with Action vs Project vs Folder Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I have been struggling with the big picture issue of whether I want my actions organized in projects or folders and whether some of my actions should be projects or vice versa. there are some interesting questions, for example: If I make a folder I can only put projects in it not individual actions, etc. I need help!

Background: I am a professor and one of the things I need is to compile an annual report at the end of each year recalling all the classes I've taught, grants and projects I've worked on, manuscripts I've produced, students I've mentored, national service I've done, committees I've served on etc. some things have many sub parts, such as interviewing and hiring several research assistants, others are isolated such as responding to a particular students aout a problem with a test. For my annual report things need to be organized by categories and subcategories, as in Teaching/Dissertation Committees. A couple of concrete scenario might help.

Scenarios:

1. an email arrives requesting whether i would be willing to be a peer reviewer for a manuscript submitted to the Journal of Big Ideas. I am. I bump the email into the inbox for processing later. It's is due on a specific date and there is really no need to for sub actions. My annual report considers this Service/National. I'm inclined to have a folder called Service with a subfolder called National and a further subfolder called Peer Reviews. At a glance i could see the peer reviews i have outstanding and at the end of the year i'd have a record of all the reviews i did.