The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Can I get contexts to show up in Spotlight? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
The title says it all I guess…

I'm not able to find my OF contexts in spotlight now, and I sorely miss that.

When I typed a context, the spotlight came back with its related projects in under the document list. I am a newbie so I may be wrong. I am using OF 1.8 preview on Snow Leopard.

SL

Last edited by sooinlee1; 2010-05-07 at 10:50 AM..

You are quite right (if I understand you correctly): spotlight finds projects and single-action lists, but not contexts. And I think that is a pity.

I think I know what you mean now. You cannot find its context by typing in a project in the spotlight.

I guess we've established that the answer to my question is No then...

Does anyone know if this is a design decision by the Omnis – or is it just hard to do for some reason?

If I have a project called "Paint house" containing an action called "Buy paint" with context "Hardware store", typing the project or action name into Spotlight will get me a list of matching project and action names, and clicking one will take me to the project or action in OmniFocus, if all goes well. What is it that you want typing the context name to show, a list of everything in that context, or just the matching context names? What happens if you have both a project or action AND a context with the same name?

Thanks for your reply, whpalmer.