The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Visual example real world project Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I put together an example of a real world project using Action Groups for a real world project.

http://web.mac.com/stephenzinn/OmniF...on_groups.html

Enjoy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpiralOcean View Post
I put together an example of a real world project using Action Groups for a real world project.

http://web.mac.com/stephenzinn/OmniF...on_groups.html

Enjoy.
As a teacher myself, it strikes me that I would treat many of your action groups as actions. For instance, the group "Handouts are ready for class" has two actions in it: "Prepare in-class handouts" and "Photocopy handouts," both of them in context Computer. I would make that a single action: "Prepare and photocopy in-class handouts." (I'd be especially inclined to do so because they all have the same context. If I had to prepare handouts on my computer and then turn them in to be photocopied at the office, I might make them separate actions, though I might not, for reasons explained below.)

Sure, from a strict GTD perspective, that's not a single action. On the other hand, Allen observes in GTD that tasks that are habitual might not need very much detail, while people who have taken on new responsibilities might need to break them down to a more granular level. I've been teaching for over a decade, so I've internalized a lot of routines that I don't need to track in my GTD system.