The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Nested Due Dates? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I'm trying to figure out the best setup for a financial checklist. I'm a freelance web developer and every week I have a list of items that need to be done to get my books up to date. This includes things like updating invoices from time sheets, billing clients, transferring money from Paypal, etc.

I have a great checklist setup that I can follow but it has a few annoyances. The checklist is a project that repeats every Friday and all the tasks are in a specific order for optimum work flow. The annoying part is that I don't need to balance my checkbook or pay my credit card bill every week. These are monthly tasks. I'd still like to keep them in the order that they they need to be done within my checklist, but only have them appear once per month.

If my project is due every Friday, then those monthly tasks also show as due every Friday. Is there a better way to set this up?

How about not having the project repeat? Instead, have only the actions repeat inside a single action list. Arrange them in the order you want, and put start dates on them so you don't see them any earlier than you want to. Take advantage of the fact that repeating actions get replaced where they are.

If you need a sequence of actions for some reason, you can put an action group (nested actions) inside a single action list. You would set the action group to repeat, not the actions it contains.

Thanks for the reply. I think I tried this at one point, but it didn't work quite right...