The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

OF and your workflow Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am curious to hear how people are using OmniFocus. I always wonder how "micro" to get with OF.

As a teacher, I have the following questions:
- would it be good to create a project for each class?
For example, "Lesson Plan 10/3"
* brainstorm plan
* create handout 1
* sign out lab
* grade hw
* upload grades

or would each class be an action group? or would you just reserve OF for things that might be out of the ordinary, like sign out lab?

Another situation: I run several weekly meetings. Would you have a project called action X and then have as NA's things such as:
* brainstorm agenda
* write agenda
* email agenda to participants
* duplicate agenda

One problem (fear) I have with GTD is I can spend so much time fiddling with my action lists, I could just hammer things out. If you have a chance, share some of your usage patterns or questions.

Thanks,
Steve

Steve,

I use a separate project for each of my courses, each term. I have detailed templates for starting a course (pre-term planning), prepping each week (including individual meetings during the week), and wrapping up a course. I do a bit of planning to design these templates up front, and add to them as I get a feel for how the course is working. I use my Populate Template Placeholders script each week to populate a new week's worth of tasks. I drag the resulting one-week project into my course project as an action group. This lets my Focus on the course.