The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Help with project structure please? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I have a folder 'Music' which holds all my musical projects.
(I'm a musician)
One of my activities is to be part of a team called 'The Real Music Network' (RMN)

... so I have a project 'RMN'

RMN has people and projects, one of which is a festival in November.

The Festival has a number of facets:
o Acts (expensive)
o Local musos (cheap)
o Publicity
o Marketing ( CDs, posters, DVDs; a stall)
o People ( some of the team:RMN; then local techies; hall staff; security; local government and more)

o Inviting list
o The workshops I might lead
o The bands I might play with

I'm having trouble conceptualising how to structure these in OF.

Any ideas?

peter

Last edited by peterlemer; 2008-09-11 at 06:26 AM..

Hi Peter,

it sounds like the RMN thing is much more than a project, rather an "Area of Responsibility" (i.e., it's nothing to be finished in the foreseeable future, but an ongoing thing in your life). Thus, I would create a folder for RMN and then put related projects in this folder. This can be a subfolder of "Music" to reflect the hierarchy. You could now also create a subfolder in RMN for each larger project (the festival) to group projects related to this particular festival.

For each of the festival facets you can create single projects ("Marketing", "Publicity", "Prepare for Act X", "Prepare for Act Y", "Prepare for Act Z"). For each workshop you can create also a project "Prepare Workshop X", or a single project "Organize Workshops". The inviting list can be realized as an action group in e.g. the Publicity project: