The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniPlan > OmniPlan General
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Do Graffle/Outliner/Plan overlap? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am new to Omni, and I have d'loaded the demo apps to try them out and see which one fits me best, but I am wondering if Plan, Graffle and Outliner overlap features?

Do you find that you have migrated to using one over the other? Are there certain tasks that one excels at over another one? Do you see Plan (since it is new) replacing Graffle or Outliner ever? Or are all three complimentary (one giving its output to the next for further work)?

Sorry if this is obvious. I will try all three and answer my own question, but I'd appreciate your replies. You have undoubtedly tried these apps out and have your opinions.

I'd like some "real" users to respond to this post too, but I'll give you an Omni perspective:
1) We have users who only find use for one of these three apps; we have users who rely on all three daily.
2) We intend for the three to work together well (via import/export and LinkBack).
3) Some of our users were using a combination of Outliner and Graffle to do project management, and were begging us to develop OmniPlan, so they could have an app that's really designed for that purpose.
3) We don't really want to merge any 2 of these apps, because the UI would just get more and more complex, and harder to use. And we definitely have users of Outliner and Graffle doing things that would not fit in OmniPlan very well at all, like writing books, creating slide shows, drawing floorplans, etc.