The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniGraffle > OmniGraffle General
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

OG 4 - 5 compatibility? Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am trying to edit a set of wireframes that I had created in Omnigraffle 4. When I open them in my new (much-loved!) OG5, they are all jacked up. Things in the master canvas are all shifted around. Some page elements fall so far outside the margins that a canvas that used to be one page is now 4.

Any thoughts on what I can do to address this issue without changing settings that will similarly destroy my newer OG5 files?

Any advice would be most appreciated

I have been using OG4 for many years, and I am very pleased with it.

I have OG5 on another machine, but use it rarely (not worth explaining here). Certainly I have opened many OG4 drawing in OG5 ... but I have never had the experience of lines being "jacked up", all my lines are exactly where I placed them in OG4: connected lines; unconnected lines; various line endings.

If you can be more specific about exactly what happened to the line(s), maybe someone can help.

Also, that all the lines are jacked up, sounds very odd.

When OG drawings are exported to Visio format, sure the lines are all screwed up, because Visio has no decent line (or magnet) handling. Perhaps your drawings are exported vdx and then imported back into OG ?

Cheers

Hmm. Not so much "lines" as "canvas elements." And I can see how "jacked up" isn't the most descriptive term. :)

The original canvas has some pieces (canvas name, page #, our logo) in a standard place on the bottom right. I used the Master Canvas to create those & propagate across all canvases.