The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Archiving Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I'm pretty new to OF, and liking it a lot. One of the things that has been useful to me is that when I check an item off, it is available to me in a "Completed Items" perspective ... I've changed the format prefs so the completed items are not struck-through, and are thus more easily read in that view, and there's a Completed Date column, so I can look at the items and tell instantly when they were done (which is often helpful to me.)

I understand that these are going to quickly add up and increase the file size, so I plan to use Move Old Data to Archive. But before I do, I have some questions.

1) At about what file size should I start worrying about too many completed items slowing thing down (I do sync OF from laptop to iPhone).

2) Are the items in the archive indexed - and thus accessible - by spotlight?

3) When I open the archive file, does the main OF file stay open, or is it replaced the archive file?

4) Can archiving only be done manually? In other words, I can't have items more than 45 days old move over automatically ... I have to physically set a date each time I want to archive. Yes?

Thanks in advance,

rb

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogbar View Post
1) At about what file size should I start worrying about too many completed items slowing thing down (I do sync OF from laptop to iPhone).