The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniGraffle > OmniGraffle General
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

OmniGraffle & Edu License Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am about to buy OmniGraffle 5 Professional with Edu License. (I am a qualifying university student but going to graduate some time during spring 2009.) However, I've got some questions...

According to Omni Edu Store: "Educational licenses will have the text "[EDUCATIONAL LICENSE]" appended to the license owner name."

- Can I later upgrade to the non-Edu version of OmniGraffle 5 Pro? How?
- How much will this cost? 80 USD (the difference between Edu and non-Edu prices of OmniGraffle 5 Pro) OR something else (e.g. one of the OmniGraffle 5 Pro non-Edu upgrade prices)?
- Will this remove the text "[EDUCATIONAL LICENSE]" from the owner name?

- Are there restrictions with the Edu version (when compared to the non-Edu version)?

An example: What should I purchase to get OmniGraffle 5 Pro non-Edu, if I had OmniGraffle 4 Pro Edu. (In my case, it's from OmniGraffle 5 Pro Edu to non-Edu - but this information might be useful. Maybe I will keep the non-Edu version 5 - and want to upgrade 5 Pro Edu to 6 Pro non-Edu (if there is one some day).)

You can't upgrade to the non-educational version of OmniGraffle 5 Pro, but we have no problem with your continuing to use the educational license you purchase even after you stop being in that market. After version 6 comes out, you'll be able to pay the standard upgrade price to go to OmniGraffle 6 sans the educational discount.