The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus 1 for Mac
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Switch From MobileMe To Omni Sync Server Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I am considering switching from MobileMe to OSS as I have been getting unusual sync failed messages lately both on the desktop and the mobile apps. Since I am still fairly new to OmniFocus, is there a safe procedure for switching from one sync host to another?

I need to switch the following devices:

- Two desktop machines in two different locations (home, work)
- One iPhone
- One iPad

Thanks.

EDIT: I have no idea why I posted this in the Mac forum when I should have posted it in the Sync forum. Oops. If someone could move I would appreciate it.

EDIT AGAIN: I failed to mention that I have previously synced with OSS, but the data there is old. Since there doesn't appear to be a way to remove the old data from OSS, how would I deal with that when moving from MobileMe to OSS?

Last edited by ifonline; 2010-08-15 at 03:31 PM..

What kind of strange messages? Do you have MobileMe's disk syncing feature enabled?

No. I actually use Dropbox for computer to computer file sharing. I only use MobileMe for other sync services (calendar, address book, etc.), and so I don't have iDisk syncing enabled. I never found it terribly reliable. To be clear, however, I am using MobileMe for OmniFocus syncing, I just don't have iDisk sync enabled so I don't have iDisk mounted on my desktop or anything like that.