The Omni Group
These forums are now read-only. Please visit our new forums to participate in discussion. A new account will be required to post in the new forums. For more info on the switch, see this post. Thank you!

Go Back   The Omni Group Forums > OmniFocus > OmniFocus Syncing > Bonjour sync
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Bonjour Synch stuck at "preparing to synchronize" [Answer: Mac Firewall Preferences] Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
I've just installed OmniFocus on my new 2nd generation ipod touch. I've been using the desktop for a few months. When I go through the steps for the initial synching via Bonjour, something goes wrong.

I believe I am connecting directly from MacBook to iPod via Air Port. I have no wireless gear other than these two devices, and my iPod Settings' WiFi info shows the iPod as connected to my MacBook.

After I choose "Set Up Sync" on the iPod, I click "Share Settings" on the desktop "Synchronization Preferences", my computer immediately replaces the "searching" text in the box near the bottom of the "Sync with Mac" screen on the iPod. I touch it and get a grayed-out OmniFocus top level menu, with "Preparing to Synchronize" and what appears to be a progress bar on top. The progress bar never moves and after about 75 seconds, I'm popped back to the "Synch with Mac" screen and the "searching" text has reappeared.

Any ideas?

Many thanks for your help!

-- Elizabeth

I figured it out!

It was my firewall. D'oh!

Here's what I had to do, in case someone else comes across this while trying to solve the same problem:

Navigate through Apple > System Preferences > Security > Firewall

Choose "Set access for specific services and applications" and add OmniFocus to the list.

-- Elizabeth